You are here: News 2000

Onassis Award to Theodorakis I

Macedonian Press Agency: News in English, 2000-05-30

Greece's internationally acclaimed composer Mikis Theodorakis, former French president Valery Giscard d'Estaing and Nebraska professor and environmental researcher John W. Doran are this year's recipients of the Alexander S. Onassis Foundation awards.
Each of the recipients will also be awarded a $250,000 cash prize in a ceremony to be held on November 7 in Athens.
The Foundation refrained from awarding prizes last year, citing the conflicts in the Balkan region.
Onassis Awards

Former French President Valery Giscard d'Estaing, Greek composer Mikis Theodorakis and American scientist John Doran were named Monday as this year's recipients of the Onassis Foundation awards.
D'Estaing, 74, won the prize for "International Understanding and Social Achievement," for his efforts to form the European Union and helping Greece to enter it.
Theodorakis, 75, a prolific composer known for the film score for "Zorba the Greek," received the foundation's cultural award.
Doran, 55, professor at the University of Nebraska and a researcher at the Soil and Water Conservation Research Unit in Lincoln, Neb., received the environment prize.
They will receive their awards at a ceremony Nov. 7 at the Athens concert hall.
The foundation was established by the late Greek shipping magnate Aristotle Onassis, in memory of his 23-year-old son Alexander, who was killed in an airplane crash in 1973.
Each award is worth $250,000.

| Printer-friendly page | Send this article to a friend |